• default style
  • blue style
  • green style
  • red style
  • orange style
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

Iban lass bags the Pro-Chancellor's Award at convocation

on 12 Oktober 2010.

KUCHING: It was a memorable day for Ervinna Mos, 23, an Iban girl from a rural longhouse in Mukah, when she won the Pro-Chancellors Award after graduating with an engineering degree at Universiti Malaysia Sarawaks (Unimas) convocation.

She had also won the Deans Award for four semesters and the Zecon Award during her studies at the university.

I want to prove to the world that even a rural Iban girl from the longhouse like me can be successful, she told reporters after the convocation yesterday.

She is currently working for an engineering firm in Miri as a project engineer.

Along with her, 703 others also received their scrolls on the first day of the convocation from Unimas Chancellor Tun Datuk Patinggi Abang Muhammad Salahuddin.

Throughout the three-day ceremony, a total of 1,765 graduates will be graduating.

The 14th convocation is historical as it would be the last one held at the old campus hall.

The next convocation will be held at the new hall, currently under construction.

Another Sarawakian girl, 23-year-old Frannelya Francis, received the Chancellors Award.

The Iban-Bidayuh Nur­sing Programme graduate not only excelled academically but also in co-curricular activities.

She was the Public and International Relations Exco for the student council for 2008/2009 session.

When studying, the most important thing is to pay attention and be focused in class.

When we understand what the lecturers have taught us, all we need to do next is just revise, she said.

Frannelya was also recently offered a nursing position at the National University of Singapore.

I accepted the Singapore offer because I want to gain more experience as Singapore is a developed country.

When the time comes for me to return to Malaysia, I can use my knowledge to contribute to my country, she said.

Other award recipients yesterday were Norrul Aikma Mohamed and Shamini Krishnan, who received the Royal Education Award and Pui Chai Ping, Ng Xin Yee and Eliane Choo won the Special Senate Award.


Extracted from The Star Online.

Arkib Berita

Universiti Malaysia Sarawak, 94300 Kota Samarahan, Sarawak, Malaysia Telephone: +60 82581000/+60 82581388, Fax: +60 82 665 088, Email: corporate@unimas.my
Copyright © 2015 Official Portal of Universiti Malaysia Sarawak. All Rights Reserved.
Tarikh terakhir kemaskini: Khamis 28 Januari 2016.

Jom Masuk U Logo MOF Logo JPA logo Malaysian Govt Picture  MSC Logo MyIDEAS Logo 1Malaysia Logo krste myhealth
Peta Laman | Penafian | Polisi | Panduan Portal | Maklum Balas | FAQ
Paparan terbaik  menggunakan  Mozilla Firefox Version versi 3+,  Microsoft Internet Explorer Versi 9+ atau Google Chrome
Laman web ini tidak menyokong paparan dalam mobile.
Untuk sebarang pertanyaan atau komen mengenai laman web ini,

Tarikh terakhir kemaskini: Khamis 28 Januari 2016.

Visitors Counter : 3172653


Alamat e-mel ini dilindungi daripada spambots. Anda perlukan JavaScript diaktifkan untuk memaparkannya.